BRADENTON, FL – MAY 27, 2015, The Skyway Film Festival announced today the over 50 narrative films, documentaries and shorts that will comprise the selection for the inaugural festival (June 12-14). The schedule will showcase initial offerings from first time directors in their feature film debuts as well as a wide array of documentaries and shorts.

Centerpiece of the festival will be a special Retrospective screening of The Blair Witch Project followed by a Q&A; with co-director Dan Myrick, moderated by Erik Lunseth, Executive Director of the Skyway Film Festival. The festival will also showcase their Skyway Labs, with discussions concentrating on the technical and creative necessities of filmmaking. These conversations with industry leaders and special guests will focus on subjects from film financing to distribution and directing from the female point of view (Film Fatales).

"As a film programmer, independent film producer and lover of Independent film, there is no word that can describe the level of excitement I have for showcasing the films we as a programming team have finalized for the inaugural Skyway Film Festival program. We set out to showcase works from new storytellers and we have done that. The strength is in its diverse program that brings films from all walks of life. From our Opening Night film which tells the story of the ultimate Dreamer through the Documentaries that focus on real world issues to the local flare of Florida Focus Features, we are proud to share the works of these new artists," said Joe Restaino, Artistic Director of Skyway Film Festival.

Grand Jury panelists will include Leslie Cohen, VP of Programming, HBO; Daniel Bort, President, Expression Entertainment; Andre Holland, Actor (The Knick/Selma); Ryan O’Nan, Actor/Writer (Ray Donovan/The Iceman); Dori Sperko (Sex Ed, XY); Lee Broda, Actor/Producer (Amnesiac/The Phenom); Caroline Connor, Producer (Chu and Blossom/Franny) and Michael Darrow, Editor (Albion: The Rise of Dannan/Casual Encounters).

As part of the screenplay competition, several finalists have been selected and will have the opportunity to receive feedback on their scripts. The teleplay Finalists include Runner by Edward Robinson; My Tuesday Dad by Annie Wood; Curb Your Enthusiasm ‘Accident’ by David Schroeder; Connections by Ross Somerville; Tinker, By Amy Neswald; Civil Rising by Kimberly Tompkins; Quixotic by Austin McKinley; Catalyst by Minoti Vaishnav, Razorhurst by Li Lu and Be True by Jon Hill.


Opening Night Selection: WALT BEFORE MICKEY Director: Khoa Le

Closing Night Selection: NO STRANGER THAN LOVE Director: Nicholas Wernham

A SORT OF HOMECOMING Director: Maria Burton

ACROSS THE SEA Directors: Esra Saydam & Nisan Dag

LAND OF LEOPOLD Director: Akis Konstantakopoulous

NIGHT OWLS Director: Charles Hood

THE SUFFERING Director: Robert Hamilton


WORTHY Director: Marianna Palka